We are living in the world of technology. All of us use technology for our benefit. Internet converts the whole world into a global village. All of us use social media apps. Instagram is one of the most popular social media apps. Through social media, we are connected with each other.  You can share your memories with your friends. Posts on Instagram are the best way to share your best time, your emotions with others, your knowledge with others.

Now Instagram has a new way to share stories to their content with the option to re-share the posts on which they tagged. In this article, we will discuss what does it mean when someone mentions you on Instagram live.

Mention mean on Instagram

Instagram has introduced a new Story feature, which allows users to reshare posts they were tagged in. As a result, you’ll be able to share any video or photo that has previously been shared about you.

Mention on Instagram story

You receive a notification in your direct message threads with the person who mentioned you on Instagram live. When someone mentions you in the life story he/she can see your user name in their story. When someone sees your user name by taping on your user name he can go to your profile. In the case of your private account, your approved followers only can see your posts.

Your stories will automatically be removed from your followers after 24 hours.  Your mentioned stories will not appear on your profile or your tagged posts. If you re-share a post on your story, the original username will show at the top of the post.

 when someone mentions me in their story

If someone you follow mentions you in their story, you’ll get a direct message from them that includes a preview of their story. If someone you don’t follow mentions you, it’ll appear in your inbox as a message request.

How can you hide when someone mentions you on Instagram

You have to follow the following steps to block or hide your mentions on Instagram. If you don’t want to mention others then you can block this.

  • Firstly open Instagram and click on your profile at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  • And tap the three lines button and choose from the setting on the list.
  • Tap privacy from the list.
  • At the top, you choose from the comments, mentions, tags, and story animals.

When someone mentions on your Instagram comment

The people you tag in a photo or video are visible to anyone who can see it. If your Instagram account is set to public, anyone can see the photo or video, and the person you tagged will get a notification.

When someone mentions you on Instagram you can see the post and hence it takes you directly to their comment section. When someone mentions you on Instagram you can see the post and hence it takes you directly to their comment section

Manage Instagram mentions.

You can change your privacy setting it is in your hand who can mention you

When someone mentions his story you can not able to remove your user name from his story but you can report his story.

Mention someone on Instagram

  • Tap in the top of your screen or swipe right from anywhere in Feed.
  • Take a photo or video, then tap.
  • Type @ followed immediately by their username, then select the person you’d like to mention.
  • Tap Done, then tap Send to.
  • Tap Share next to Your Story, then tap Done.

Update mention settings

Your privacy settings in the Instagram app for Android or iPhone let you choose who can tag or mention you. Anyone outside your selected audience can tag or mention you but not on Instagram.

 For update, your mentioned settings follow the following instructions

  • Open your Instagram app
  • Tap on the profile picture to go to your profile
  • Tap the three dots icon to go to your settings
  • Then tap privacy
  • Tap on mentions from the list.

Then tap the circle to the right of the audience you want to let mention you for example you can select the people you follow or no one.  But if you block someone then he would not be able to mention you in their stories.

How can I see when someone mentions me in their stories

You won’t be able to view the Story if you don’t open the notification within 24 hours, since the Story will have expired. However, you won’t see what specific information was shared with you. You’ll still see that someone mentioned you, but not what exactly was shared.

Mention in life

With Live, public figures can connect with their fans on Facebook and share and discuss their thoughts. Become a social media star with Instagram Mentions and try Live today.

Conclusion

When someone mentions you it will be sent a notification to you. You will not be able to see your mention after 24 hours. To see your mentions go to your setting. You can set up your mentions setting. If you blocked someone then he can not mention you in their story.

FAQs

What is the difference between tagging and mentions on Instagram?

The creator of the content must tag the content, while anyone can mention the content. There is often greater value in tagging rather than notifications since mentions can be lost in the feed (i.e. the feed only shows the 100 most recent notifications), whereas tags are seen explicitly.

How can you see hidden mentions on Instagram?

The news feed feature of your Instagram app allows you to see your mentions. Ensure that you are signed in to your Instagram account before opening Instagram on your phone. From the main menu of the app, select the News option. An icon featuring a speech bubble with a silhouette of a heart appears in the icon.

What is the mean of mention on Instagram live?

If you are not in life. You are tagged at the time to join them in their live stream.